Derick Edgren Otero


Derick is a former Lambda Literary Fellow and recent participant in the Fresh Ground Pepper NYC BRB Retreat. Development includes Lambda Literary LGBTQ+ Emerging Writers Retreat with faculty Victor I. Cazares, La MaMa Umbria with guest artist Todd London, November Theatre, Art Garage, Cherry Lane Theatre, Capital Repertory Theatre, and Rockford New Play Festival, curated by Nathan Alan Davis. Awards in KCACTF Region V: 2024 John Cauble One-Act Festival, 2024 Paula Vogel Playwriting Award, and 2024 and 2023 Latinx Playwriting Award. University Awards: 2018 Lipkin Prize in Humanities, 2017 David Lindsay-Abaire Prize in Playwriting. Finalist: 2023 Catskills Creative Residency, 2020 Campfire Theatre Festival, 2016 and 2015 Capital Repertory NEXT ACT New Play Summit, 2015 and 2014 Rockford New Play Festival; semi-finalist: 2021 Playwrights Realm's Scratchpad Series, 2017 O'Neill National Playwriting Conference; long list: 2019 Independent International Award for Improper Dramaturgy. BA, Sarah Lawrence. MFA, Iowa Playwrights Workshop.